The Golden Eaglets of Nigeria on August 11, 1985 won the inaugural FIFA under 16 football World Cup tournament in Beijing China. Strength, skills and a willingness to attack were the three main ingredients in Nigeria's first world title.  

They proved themselves superior in just about all facets of the game. The Golden Eaglets coasted through the first round with a 1-0 victory over Italy, a 3-0 win against Costa Rica and a draw with Saudi Arabia in the group stage and defeated hardfighting West Germany 2-0 at the Workers Stadium in Beijing, China to win the Maiden edition of what is now the FIFA U17 World Cup. 

FIFA President, Dr Joao Havelange while presenting the trophy to Nduka Ugbade, the Nigerian captain predicted bright future for Nigeria. The Golden Eaglets have won the competition a record, five times in 1985, 1993, 2007, 2013 and 2015 in China, Japan, South Korea, the United Arab Emirates and Chile. 

Sixteen countries including Nigeria, Congo and Guinea represented Africa in the newly introduced cadet championship. 
Ninety one goals were scored by 56 players  with Marcel Witeczec of West Germany emerging as the highest goals scorer with 8 goals.
Only one of the 91 goals was an own goal . 
Hugo Maradona, the younger brother of the legendary Argentina world Cup champions was in China 1985 cadets championship.

😉Continue Reading Below ...😜
  Sport Flames img

Nigeria's Victor Igbinoba was one of the leading lights of the championship, 
Brazil thrashed Guinea 4-1 in the third place game. The tournament was held between July 31 and August 11 1985

Some of the regular players that won the prestigious and inaugural Trophy were
Goal Keeper Agbonsebvafe, Fatai Atere, Speedy Babatunde Joseph, Jonathan Akpoborie, Sani Adamu, Duere Tonworinmi’s, Nduka Ugbade, Binebi Numa, Kingsley Akhionbare, Salisu Nakade and Victor Igbinoba, the team coached by Sebastien Brodericks Imasuen. 

Before Nigeria's Victor Osihmen emerged the all time highest goals scorer with ten goals in 2015 in Chile, France's Sinama Pongolle Florent was the record holder in 2001 in Trinidad and Tobago with 9 goals .

In that edition in Trinidad and Tobago, Nigeria beat France 2-1 in the opening match and lost 3-0 to the same french team in the final match played in the Port of Prince

Post a Comment

Blog Designed By CodeHead Copy Rights 2015 . Powered by Blogger.