Super Eagles and Lille forward Victor Osimhen 

Super Eagles and Lille forward Victor Osimhen has been voted the Best African player in French Ligue 1 for the year 2020.

Osimhen beat his international team-mate Moses Simon and eight other African stars to the prestigious award.

Other African players who were nominated for the award include Algerian Islam Slimani (Monaco), Moroccan Yunis Abdelhamid (Stade de Reims) who finished second and third respectively.

Osimhen, 21, who was also voted Lille player of the season scored 18 goals and recorded six assists in 38 appearances in all competitions during his debut campaign in France.

The award is named after the late Cameroonian midfielder Marc-Vivien-Foe, with Arsenal and former Lille winger Nicolas Pepe winning the 2019 edition.

Six players from Lille have won the award in the past, they are Ivory Coast forward Gervinho won it in 2010 and 2011, Vincent Enyeama picked up the prize in 2014, while Moroccan Sofiane Boufal was the winner in 2016.

😉Continue Reading Below ...😜
  Sport Flames img

The 21-year-old is now the second Nigerian after Vincent Enyeama (2014) to claim the individual honour since inception.

According to the jury, the votes produced the following results:

1. Victor OSIMHEN (Nigeria/Lille LOSC) – 284 points
2. Islam SLIMANI (AlgĂ©rie/AS Monaco) – 95 points
3. Yunis ABDELHAMID (Maroc/Stade de Reims) – 89 points
4. Habib DIALLO (Senegal/FC Metz) – 52 points
5. M’Baye NIANG (Senegal/Stade rennais) – 43 points
6. Idrissa GUEYE (Senegal/Paris SG) – 37 points
7. Hamari TRAORÉ (Mali/Stade Rennais) – 37 points
8. Denis BOUANGA (Gabon/AS Saint-Etienne) – 27 points
9. Edouard MENDY (Senegal/Stade rennais) – 24 points
10. Andy DELORT (Algeria/Montpellier HSC) – 13 points
11. Moses SIMON (Nigeria/FC Nantes) – 10 points

Vivien Foe is considered one of the best midfielder that ever played in the French Ligue 1 championship. He died at the Stade de France, while playing for Cameroon, during the 2003 FIFA Confederations Cup semi-final game against Colombia.

Previous winners of Marc-Vivien Foe Award are below: 

2009: Marouane Chamakh (Bordeaux / Morocco)
2010: Yao Gervinho (Lille / CĂŽte d’Ivoire)
2011:Yao Gervinho (Lille / CĂŽte d’Ivoire)
2012: YounĂšs Belhanda (Montpellier / Morocco)
2013: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Saint-Etienne / Gabon)
2014: Vincent Enyeama (Lille / Nigeria)
2015: André Ayew (Marseille / Ghana)
2016: Sofiane Boufal (Lille / Morocco)
2017: Jean Mickaël Seri (Nice / Ivory Coast)
2018: Karl Toko-Ekambi (Angers SCO / Cameroon)
2019: Nicolas Pepe (Lille / Ivory Coast)
2020: Victor Osimhen (Lille/Nigeria)

  Sport Flames img

Post a Comment

Blog Designed By CodeHead Copy Rights 2015 . Powered by Blogger.