MFM Players posing with the Cash Reward
Mountain of Fire and Miracle football club, this evening at the Agege stadium defeated Spartans fc 3-1 in the final of the WGB /Lagos FA Cup to retain the title it won last year. As well as taking home the cash prize of one million naira and a giant trophy. 

Expectedly, the Olukoya Boys started the game on the front foot with diminutive playmaker Chukwuka Onuwa netting the opener in the 11th minute of play off a deflection. It was a rare goal from Onuwa and it drew a wild applause from the impressive crowd at the stadium. 
Spartans drew level in the 24th minute through Adeyemi Sulaiman, as both teams ended the first half on equal level. 

The second stanza started with MFM resuming their onslaught against their opponents. Captain Okorom scored the second goal for the NPFL table toppers from the spot in the 49th minute . And it was the Olukoya Boys all the way. Fleet footed Sikiru Olatunbosun took the winds off the sails of Spartans with the third goal in the dying minutes of the match. 

More than anything, both finalists will represent Lagos State at the National level of the competition. Other winners on the final day, include Macaulay Okoligwe of Nath Boys who won the highest goals scorer with 4 goals ; Amusu Sunday of Spartans fc was adjudged the Most Valuable Player, while the safe hands of Freestan fc, Chibueze Junior Ogbugo was voted the best goalkeeper of the competition. 

Speaking with the press at the end of the game, Hon. Mudashiru Obasa, the MD /CEO of Winners Golden Bet, stated his delight with the high standard of the competition. Adding that his company will continue to support the Lagos FA and its programmes to develop the youths through football. 
On his part, Barrister Seyi Akinwunmi, Chairman of Lagos FA, enthused confidently that the finalists would prove to be worthy representatives of the state at the national level.
  Sport Flames img

Post a Comment

Blog Designed By CodeHead Copy Rights 2015 . Powered by Blogger.