Kenedy Boboye Of Plateau United
The League Bloggers Awards (LBA) has announced its shortlists for performances in the month of April in the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL).*
On Thursday, the LBA named Kennedy Boboye of Plateau United, Nasarawa United's Kabiru Dogo, Ifeanyi Ubah's Ghanaian manager Yaw Preko and Abdu Maikaba of Akwa United as the men to contend for the manager's award for April.
The players' shortlist has Katsina United big striker Chinedu Udechukwu, Akwa United's Alhassan Ibrahim, Nasarawa United defender Yinka Onaolapo and Anthony Okpotu of Lobi Stars.
Boboye, Maikaba and Preko led Plateau United, Akwa United and FC Ifeanyiubah respectively to unbeaten streaks in the month under review. Dogo, named for the second time on the bounce among the LBA nominees, suffered a 1-0 reverse at ABS FC with Nasarawa United whom he guided to win their two other games in April but still squeezed himself among the top-four performing managers.
Coach Yaw Preko
For Coach Yaw Preko at FC Ifeanyi Ubah, he came of the back of three games undefeated in March to earn 7 out of possible 9 points at the month of April. On 2nd April 2017, Anambra Warriors came from a goal down to beat Sunshine Stars of Akure two goals to one, goals scored by Godwin Obaje and Pascal Seka at the stroke of time. Seven days later, 9th April 2017 the Ghanaian legend led Anambra Warriors, secured their second away point and first clean sheet on the roads by holding Lobi Stars to a goalless draw at the Ape Aku Stadium Makurdi. On the last day of the first stanza of the season which was 19th April 2017, FC Ifeanyi Ubah staged another comeback by defeating Shooting Stars Sports Club of Ibadan by two goals to one. At that nervy encounter, Godwin Obaje once again rose up to the occasion and scored a brace to help Anambra Warriors end the first half of the season in grand style.
Towards the end of 2015/2016 Nigerian Professional Football League Season, former Coach Everton Raphael was nominated for this same award in two consecutive months (July and August) and he won the much celebrated latter edition for going unbeaten that month of July 2016. This kind of feat is not alien to the club, its as a result of hardwork, discipline, determination, sheer resilience and perfect environment, which remains the watchword at FC Ifeanyi Ubah.
In the player's category, Udechukwu accounted for three of four goals scored by Katsina United in the month of April while Akwa United's Alhassan scored four goals including a hattrick in his team's 4-2 win
over 3SC on 2 April. Alhassan also provided the assist for Akwa
United's winning goal at Kano Pillars.
Onaolapo did not only put in a big shift for Nasarawa United defensive-wise, his bombing runs forward also yielded a goal and two assists for the month of April from his right-back position.
Okpotu completes the list of nominees vying for the April player's award. The Lobi man helped his team to their only win of the month under review when he netted a memorable hattrick in their 3-1 win over
Sunshine Stars.
The LBA will announce the winners of the player and manager's award for April, next week.

Chinedu Udechukwu (Katsina United)
Alhassan Ibrahim (Akwa United)
Yinka Onaolapo (Nasarawa United)
Anthony Okpotu (Akwa United)

Kennedy Boboye (Plateau United)
Kabiru Dogo (Nasarawa United)
Yaw Preko (FC Ifeanyi Ubah)
Abdu Maikaba (Akwa United)

Post a Comment

Blog Designed By CodeHead Copy Rights 2015 . Powered by Blogger.