Adekuoroye with her award
2015 World Championship bronze medalist, Odunayo Adekuoroye emerged the overall Best Wrestler at the just concluded 2nd Governor Seriake Dickson National Wrestling Championship in Yenagoa, Bayelsa State.

The 2014 Commonwealth gold medalist, who showed class during the 2-day competition, was presented with the trophy by Governor Seriake Dickson at the final held at the Indoor Sports Hall of the Samson Siasia Sports Complex in Yenegoa.

Mercy Genesis (48kg) of Bayelsa won the Best Female Wrestler of the tournament, Olympian and two times Africa champion, Amas Daniel (65kg) was rated the best male freestyle wrestler while All Africa Games Gold medalist, Emmanuel Nworie (71kg) from Cross Rivers State won the best Greco-Roman wrestler.

The Best Female Team of the tournament went to Bayelsa State, Ondo State finished second and the Nigeria Army placed third.

Bayelsa State wrestling team were crowned the overall winners of the competition with a total of 22 medals, consisting of 13 gold, 6 silver and 3 bronze.

The wrestlers who won gold for the host are, female: Sele Ere Matthew (46kg), Mercy Genesis (48kg), Blessing Oborududu (63Kg), Kemasuodei (69kg) and male: Richard Seitonkimo (54kg), Ebike Welson (57kg) Firstman Victor (61kg), Amas Daniel (65kg), Opukiri Agala (74kg), Melvin Bibo (86kg), Sinivie Boltic (125kg), Greco-Roman Perefaghe Kiribein (75kg), and Nathaniel Samuel (85kg).

Placing second is Ondo State with 6 gold from Ohida Aina (44kg), Bose Samuel (53kg), Adekuoroye Odunayo (55kg), Aminat Adeniyi (58kg), Makanjuola Bisola (60kg) female. For male Freestyle: John Emmanuel (70kg) 5 Silver from male freestyle wrestlers: Ijalade Timilehin (54kg) Kolawole Fisayo (61kg), Saliu Rasheed (65kg) Jackson Oluwafemi (74kg), and female wrestler, Eke Racheal (63Kg) as well as 2 bronze medals coming Greco-Roman and freestyle wrestlers, Segun Awolade (52kg) and Idowu Ladoja 125kg).

In third position is Delta State with 2 gold, 2 silver and 5 bronze followed by Plateau State with 2 gold, 2 silver and 4 bronze.

Credit: Akeem Lawal
  Sport Flames img

Post a Comment

Blog Designed By CodeHead Copy Rights 2015 . Powered by Blogger.