Gombe United’s Afolabi Abdulwaheed, Ayo Saka of Rivers United and Enyimba’s Ogechukwu Leonard have been shortlisted for the inaugural VAT Wonder Goal award for Match Day 20.

 The three made the cut from the total of 18 goals scored across the centers in the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) last weekend.

 The video footage of the nominees’ goals have been uploaded on the NPFL website, www.npfl.ng and fans are now to vote for any of the players whose goal is considered the most spectacular.

 The League Management Company (LMC) had introduced the Wonder Goal scheme to reach out to fans and enhance engagement between the Clubs, the fans and the communities. The scheme has now be renamed VAT Wonder Goal after it was endorsed by the Federal Inland Revenue Services (FIRS) as a platform to promote tax education and engage football fans on the necessity and benefits of paying taxes to government.

 Abdulwaheed scored on the 10th minute of the first half for Gombe United in their match in Enugu which though ended 2-1 in favour of Rangers International with goals from Godwin Aguda and Ebuka Okeke.

 Saka’s lone strike on the 39th minute had secured all three points for Rivers United while Leonard’s long range effort in Shagamu gifted former champions, Enyimba International their first away win this season.

 “The VAT Wonder Goal while seeking to reward marksmanship of the highest quality in the NPFL by celebrating eye-catching and brilliant goals is also a platform to support the Federal Government’s drive to increase revenue from the non-oil sector, especially through taxes”, the LMC stated while announcing the partnership with FIRS.

 Voting will end by 11.59am on Sunday, May 27 and the player whose goal attracts the highest number of goals will receive the prize money of N150, 000 from which 50% will be donated to a Charity of his choice within the city where the club is based.

Post a Comment

Blog Designed By CodeHead Copy Rights 2015 . Powered by Blogger.